Lenten Reflections: 40 Ways to Make the Most of the Season

Lenten Cross-1

The Lenten season is nearly upon us. For many of us, that means spending time thinking about what we’re going to “give up” for the next 40 days. This year, though, I am trying to shift my focus away from what I want to give up and instead focus on what I want to get out of Lent.

There are three pillars of the Lenten season: Fasting, Prayer and Almsgiving. Over time, the focus seems to have narrowed almost exclusively onto fasting. This has certainly been my experience. As early as 4th grade, I understood the concept of Lenten sacrifice just well enough to abuse it, obnoxiously declaring that I couldn’t be on the track team anymore because I “gave up running for Lent.”

As I grew older, I was a bit more mature and intentional about what I chose to sacrifice. Even still, as I look back on my choices it’s clear that I was still missing the point when I chose to forgo items like soda, sweets and coffee because I thought it would be “good for me.” I was learning discipline, yes, but was I growing spiritually as a result of this fasting? Not quite.

It wasn’t necessarily the choices I made, but rather the process by which I made them. I was using Lent as a means to break bad habits or challenge my will power. On Easter Sunday I felt a strong sense of accomplishment, but I wasn’t any closer to God than I was 40 days earlier.

So this year, I’m prayerfully considering what God wants me to sacrifice, as well as what He wants me to gain by doing so. It’s clear in the scriptures that fasting isn’t meant to be an act of penance, but rather a way for us to show humility and to draw closer to God. Our sacrifice should be a daily reminder of God’s grace and an opportunity to grow in our faith.

And, remember, fasting is just one component of Lent. When we fast, we are reminded of the abundance God has blessed us with, and in turn we should turn to him in prayer and look outward at how we can bless others. This will look different for each of us, but if we enter Lent with our hearts seeking God, then we can be sure that our sacrifice will bring about change that will last far beyond the next 40 days.

I haven’t decided exactly how I’ll be applying the three pillars yet, but I have come up with some guiding principles and ideas that I hope will help you be more intentional in your choices this year too.

Here are a few principles and questions to consider when deciding what you’re going to fast from:

  • Do I have an ulterior motive for choosing this behavior? Spiritual fasting isn’t a crash diet or an excuse to avoid things you dislike. If there are behaviors you want to change in your life, by all means do so, but don’t confuse self-help with spiritual growth.
  • Is it something that I’ll encounter everyday or at least most days? Choose something that you have to intentionally forgo on a regular basis. This will serve as a regular reminder to give thanks for all that you do have.
  • What will I do with the time, energy and resources that result from fasting? Giving up TV will free up time that I can spend in prayer or volunteering.   Sacrificing eating out will leave me with a budget surplus that I can use to bless those in need. Think about how fasting can enable you to also grow in prayer and giving.
  • Have I asked God what He wants me to give up? This one might seem obvious, but all too often I find myself simply gravitating toward those behaviors or items that would be most difficult to give up without taking time to consider whether these are truly the areas God wants me to change.
  • How will I be different at the end of Lent? What you choose should bring about a change, and I’m not talking about the number on your scale or bank account. You want to choose something that will cause you to grow, and that will set you up for continued growth after Easter Sunday has come and gone.

40 Ideas to get you started

Fasting 

  1. Eating out. Cook your meals at home and donate the cash you save.
  2. Sweets. Don’t do this one so you’ll look better in a swimsuit, but instead use your cravings as a reminder to say a prayer. Learn new ways to deal with stress.
  3. Coffee (or, if you’re really brave, all caffeine). Drink only water and find other ways to energize yourself, and see how you use your energy differently.
  4. TV. Spend the time volunteering, journaling or with enjoying the company of loved ones.
  5. Shopping. Donate what you save, and realize that you don’t need as much as you thought.
  6. The radio. Drive in silence and use the time to pray or simply unwind.
  7. Staying up late. Set a bedtime and stick to it. Get up earlier and have some quiet time at the beginning of your day.
  8. Your pillow (or your bed). A reminder of the small things we take for granted.
  9. Hot water. Again, something we often take for granted, but you’ll realize how lucky you are to have it after day 1!
  10. The dishwasher or the dryer. You’ll likely use less dishes and throw less in the wash if you have to do this by hand (but don’t sacrifice hygiene of course!)
  11. Make up. Simplify your morning routine and fight vanity.
  12. Social Media. Give it up altogether, or delete your mobile apps so you aren’t distracted by your phone during the day.
  13. Multitasking. No answering emails while you’re on a conference call, or doing homework in front of the TV. Give your undivided attention to what you’re doing and notice how this changes how you prioritize your time.
  14. Your desk chair. Work standing up. Another reminder of something we take for granted, but you may actually find you’re more productive and have more energy.
  15. Noise. Find 15 minutes each day to sit in complete silence.

 Prayer

  1. Wake up 10 minutes earlier to start your day with prayer.
  2. Always park in the spot farthest from the building and use the walk in to pray.
  3. Keep a gratitude journal. Write at least 5 things you’re thankful for each day.
  4. Try using the P.R.A.Y or A.C.T.S acronyms to incorporate aspects of prayer you may not normally include.IMG_3083
  5. Pray for your enemies. Ask God to help you let go of bitterness and forgive.
  6. Write your prayers. Spend 10 minutes each day writing your prayers in a journal.
  7. Pray out loud with your spouse, significant other or a close friend.
  8. Read the Psalms. These are great examples of biblical prayer and can teach us how to have deeper prayer lives.
  9. Purchase or subscribe to a daily devotional.
  10. Make a Prayer Board. Use post it notes or note cards to create a visual reminder of the people and things you are praying for.
  11. Learn and practice Lectio Divina. Read about it here and try applying it to a scripture each day during Lent.
  12. Schedule prayer time throughout the day and prioritize it. Shift your other obligations around to accommodate prayer vs. the other way around.
  13. Make a gratitude or prayer jar. Write down your praise and thanksgiving on slips of paper and drop them into the jar each day.IMG_3085

Almsgiving

  1. Give away 40 things. Take a look at what you really need. Not only will you feel good about giving to others, but you’ll find your own life is simpler.
  2. Increase the % of your income you give away by 1%. If you’re not a regular giver, then try giving just 1% for 40 days and see what it brings you.
  3. Give affirmation. Each day send a text, email or card to someone who’s made a big impact on your life. Give them words of affirmation and thanks.
  4. Give your time. Commit to a regular volunteer activity during Lent.
  5. Give presence. Be where your feet are, and devote your undivided attention to who you’re with.
  6. Give attention. Be a better listener. Focus on asking others about themselves rather than turning the conversation to you.
  7. Give thanks. Take time to thank people. Whether it’s the maintenance crew in your building, the person checking you out at the grocery store, or the co-worker who helped make your day a little easier, remember to say thanks.
  8. Leave a gift card on someone’s desk at work or on a stranger’s windshield.
  9. Leave quarters in the vending machine or coin operated washing machine.
  10. Make breakfast or dinner for your family or roommate every night during lent.
  11. Anytime you go to the grocery store, return any stray carts to the cart return.
  12. Give positivity. For 40 days, make optimism your default.   No matter what you’re feeling inside, respond to situations with a positive attitude.

3 thoughts on “Lenten Reflections: 40 Ways to Make the Most of the Season

  1. Just thought you should know this post really inspired me. I usually don’t do something for lent but after reading this I decided to and so far it’s been wonderful 🙂

Leave a comment